Posted by: eytliew | June 2, 2020

The Art of Balancing

One of the things I love most about Yoga is the Yogic philosophy and Patanjali’s Sutras. The essence and the relevance of the Sutras have continued to be an anchor in my Yoga practice⚓

Take the example of my crow pose – a journey that is encapsulated in Sutra 1.12 “Abhyasa Vairagyabhyam Tannirodhah” (Put effort into your practice, but surrender the outcome)”.

In the 2013 photo (left), it is evident I was afraid. I was scared to let go of old beliefs, afraid to face new discomforts, afraid of a face plant and breaking my nose (in retrospect, how silly!!), and something I remember very clearly – I was EXTREMELY uncomfortable with uncertainty. You can also see I didn’t trust myself – my lack of confidence is written ALL over the photo. 

Over the years, I continued to play with arm balances, starting with tripod, crow and side crow, putting in decent effort but never really having faith or knowing if, or when, I would ever “get there”. Because the pose required mastering so much – both physically (stronger core and tricep grip, looking up, tilting the bum) and mentally (conquering the fear), I knew I had a long way to go. But I continued to practise – sometimes, I face planted, other times, I held it for a nano second. Like, a mili of a milisecond.

The 2020 photo on the right speaks volumes about where I am – mentally, physically, and metaphorically. Of course, I am now farther down in my practice, equipped with the knowledge that I have to continuously work hard and inject varying degrees of effort into my practice, because no day is the same. Like many other poses, this one will always be work in progress for me. 

The Sutra reminds us that we must continue to be determined, steadfast and present in our practice (Abyhyasa) but at the same time, to be non-attached (Vairagyabhyam) to the outcome.

In short, work hard but don’t fixate on the fruits of your labour, or fret about when “it will happen”.🙆True fulfillment in our practice (and life in general) is only found in the journey, the moment-to-moment awareness, not the actual arrival at our destination. 

For some, this means enjoying the little victories, no matter how small they may seem. For others like me, it may mean paying more attention or even feeling the tiny subtleties and physical sensations, or observing minute changes that take place, day by day, and celebrating every day as its own, without comparing, or judging to the practice before.

The paradox is that when we let go, and detach ourselves from any expectations amid 110% effort and determination, our mind and soul can be completely present.

And it is in these moments of connection with ourselves on the mat, that I am reminded that positive transformation can only happen when we truly learn the art of balancing effort and letting go🙌


Responses

  1. This is a wonderful post. And quite inspirational.

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories